TRADE WAITING: Week of August 27, 2014

We are a mere 48 hours away from new comic books, and a whole fresh crop of collections as well! If your bookshelf is in need of a trade or hardcover infusion, look no further than the top five releases of August 27, 2014:


Written by James Robinson
Art by Leonard Kirk, various
Published by Marvel Comics
Price: $15.99

The World’s Greatest Comics Magazine begins anew! But as the Fantastic Four embark on a strange mission, they aren’t met with new beginnings – they face an untimely end! Marvel’s First Family heads toward its darkest hour, but who’s behind the FF’s downfall? Manhattan is under attack by a killer swarm from a corrupted pocket universe; to defeat it, the Human Torch must make a terrible sacrifice! And with one member down, a new menace emerges: the Wrecking Crew, their powers mysteriously elevated! As Ben and Alicia’s romance rekindles, the threats of Fin Fang Foom, the Wizard and the Puppet Master loom; the Baxter Building is quarantined; and the Fantastic Four are held accountable for the destruction in Manhattan! It’s the trial of the century and a major turning point for the FF! Collecting FANTASTIC FOUR (2014) #1-5.

Why to watch for it: James Robinson tears Marvel’s first family down as he takes over the reigns of Fantastic Four! It’s all crashing down…the Four haven’t been this low in a long time…


Written by Meredith Gran
Art by Meredith Gran
Published by BOOM! Studios
Price: $39.99

Thanks to a newfound interest in rock ‘n’ roll, Princess Bubblegum volunteers to manage Marceline’s paranormal rock band for a pivotal tour across the land of Ooo! But when the band is threatened by everything from snobby scenesters to beasts born of self-doubt, can they hold it together and make it to the RADDEST GIG EVER in time, and manage to stay friends throughout the process?!Written and illustrated by award-winning cartoonist Meredith Gran (OCTOPUS PIE) and featuring short stories from several indie comics superstars, including Jen Wang (KOKO BE GOOD) and FRIENDS WITH BOYS cartoonist Faith Erin Hicks! This totally mathematical hardcover edition features never-before-seen extras, including an inside look at the making of MARCELINE AND THE SCREAM QUEENS!

Why to watch for it: BOOM! Studios is taking the Adventure Time series, and spin-offs to new heights and this Mathematical Edition of Marceline & The Scream Queens is a great example of what all-ages comics can be.


Written by Greg Pak
Art by Mirko Colak, Cory Smith
Published by Dynamite Entertainment
Price: $16.99

Shunned from his tribe, a young Native American named Turok fights to survive, making a lonely life for himself in the unforgiving forest. But his hard-won cunning and survival skills face the ultimate test when man-eating Thunder Lizards attack his people! Why are dinosaurs here? How have they survived? And will Turok use his abilities to save a society that’s taken everything away from him? Prepare for history-twisting carnage from superstar Greg Pak (Batman/Superman) and Mirko Colak (Conan)! Collecting issues #1-4 along with the original script to issue #1 and a complete cover gallery featuring the art of Bart Sears, Jae Lee, Jonathan Case, Rob Liefeld, Sean Chen, Bob Layton, and many more!

Why to watch for it: The Gold Key line has been a jolt of energy in Dynamite line, and Turok is a huge part of that! Greg Pak and Mirko Colak deal some pain to some dinos in this first volume of Turok: Dinosaur Hunter.


Written by Eric Shanower
Art by Skottie Young
Published by Marvel Comics
Price: $19.99

Once upon a time, a tornado brought her to Oz. Now, an earthquake sends Dorothy on her latest and greatest adventure! L. Frank Baum’s magical worlds come to life again as Dorothy Gale takes yet another unexpected trip. This time, Dorothy and her cousin Zeb tumble deep into the ground after an earthquake! They’ll encounter the strange Mangaboos and invisible bears. They’ll tussle with fierce wooden gargoyles and hungry 66-year-old baby dragons! But Dorothy will have an old friend at her side: the wonderful Wizard of Oz! But can the Wizard’s guile save Dorothy and Zeb? And what master plan has he been hiding? Experience Marvel’s fourth amazing adaptation of the L. Frank Baum classics, written by award-winning scribe Eric Shanower (Age of Bronze) and illustrated by Skottie Young (NEW X-MEN). Collecting DOROTHY & THE WIZARD IN OZ #1-8.

Why to watch for it: Skottie Young’s signature artwork is on full display as he and frequent collaborator Eric Shanower travel through Oz once more.


Written by Ian Flynn
Art by Tracy Yardley, various
Published by Archie Comics
Price: $12.99

It All Begins Here! Moving at the speed of sound, keeping the world free from robotic tyranny, it’s Sonic the Hedgehog! Spin-dashing directly out of the mega-smash Sonic/Mega Man: Worlds Collide story arc, “Countdown to Chaos” speeds into brand new comic book stories with new friends, new foes and new adventures! The entire planet has been rocked by Dr. Eggman’s Super Genesis Wave! Sonic wakes up to a world and a life he doesn’t recognize! It’s up to him to gather up his friends – the Freedom Fighters – and figure out what’s been changed. Meanwhile, below his very feet, a new threat is threatening to burst out!

Why to watch for it: Electric, chaotic energy teams in this all-ages adventure! The Sonic line from Archie Comics has been solid as a rock lately, giving Sonic and his co-horts some of their best stories in years.


Related posts